It’s time to Fish or Cut Bait!

Dating others while they are dating YOU _ Long Island Single's ___“And these signs shall follow them that believe; In my name shall they cast out devils; they shall speak with new tongues; They shall take up serpents; and if they drink any deadly thing, it shall not hurt them; they shall lay hands on the sick, and they shall recover. (Mark 16:17-18)”

Eventually there will come that moment that you will have to decide to apply what you teach or put into action what you believe. It’s either you start applying it or you need to admit that you really don’t believe in this stuff!

I remember teaching on “The Authority of the Believer” in one of our home cell groups one night. The people whose home we were in, their niece, who came to visit them was there. She is an Native American and she was not a believer in Jesus; to her Jesus was just a white-mans God and a false god to her.

Shortly after I started teaching she abruptly got up and went out of the room. After about five minutes she came back and rejoined the group and again after about five minutes she left again.

This happened about four times and as she left the fourth time, I asked her aunt if there was a problem with what I was teaching, if she thought it was disturbing her.

Her aunt said, “No, she has a bad toothache and she is leaving the room to cry from the pain, and that she didn’t want to disturb the meeting”.

I felt grieved in my heart, here I was teaching on our authority as believers; and I felt as if the devil was laughing at us, as if to see what I would do! I have been teaching and telling these people, we have authority over sickness and demonic spirits, so now it was time to fish or cut bait!

It was either time to respond or it was time to close up my bible and admit , “I really don’t believe in what I’m teaching!” So I asked for her to come back into the room where we were.

I told her, I know you don’t believe in Jesus or his ability to heal; but I do believe in him. I asked her if I could pray for her toothache, and that I believed Jesus would heal it. And I continued to say, “and if Jesus does heal it, will you allow me to then explain in detail who Jesus is and why he isn’t just a white-mans God.”

I could tell she was hurting and that she would do just about anything to stop the pain, so she said, “Yes”!

I laid my hands on her head and prayed for The Lord to heal her. Then I asked her how she felt. She said it felt better, but it still hurt. So I said that’s not what I prayed for, so I told her I would pray again.

This time I thanked the Lord for hearing my prayer and that I felt that the devil was trying to prevent the healing from manifesting, then I commanded Satan to release this young woman and to stop preventing her from receiving her healing. Again, I asked her how she felt; her response was she felt better, but the tooth still hurt.

So again I told her, “That’s not what I prayed for”, so I told her I was going to pray one last time for all the pain to be gone.

Again I thanked God for his healing power, then I rebuke the lying spirit that was preventing the healing and I commanded it to depart and for the pain to leave.

As I got ready to ask how she felt, her eyes filled up with tears; I thought to myself, the pain must be unbearable. I then mustered up my faith the best I as could, (the great man of faith I am).

As I got ready to ask how she felt, she then started touching her face and moving her jaw back and forth. I finally asked how she felt. Almost in a mumbled voice, she said, “My mouth, my whole mouth is numb, I can’t feel anything!” She spoke as if she just came from the dentist, (not able to speak clearly from the anesthesia).

With big tears in her eyes, she now knew Jesus was real, so I asked if she would now let me tell her about Jesus. She said, Yes and afterwards, she asked Jesus to be her Lord.

Sometimes instead of teaching the unbeliever who Jesus is and then praying for them. We should earn the right to teach them, after we have healed them; by showing them that Jesus is real first.

The power of God through the name of Jesus can break down the walls of unbelief faster than any teaching with words can; and once God becomes real to them, the question now becomes, “What are they going to do with Jesus now?” It becomes the proverbial moment; are they going to fish or cut bait!

One thought on “It’s time to Fish or Cut Bait!

  1. Pingback: The God who answers | called2teachu's Blog

Leave a Reply

