Living the Dream?

I love spring time and all of the newness that seems to be in the air. As a young child, I remember going to visit my relatives in the country and seeing all of the new-born animals on their farm.

I especially like seeing the new-born calves and horses, the way they seem to be so full of life; running and jumping , kicking their hind legs. One moment they are just standing still, then all of a sudden a burst of life hits them and they start spinning and jumping, like they are in a state of joyous celebration.

This is what I believe Christians are to be like, because of the eternal life that is in us. One moment we look still or calm and then all of a sudden a burst of life should flow out of us causing us to celebrate what has happened in us.

“Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new. (2 Corinthians 5:17)”

One of the first things I found out as a Christian was, I now have a new beginning; I became something new and I was no longer restricted to what I was. Being new meant, new possibilities.

“Jesus said unto him, If thou canst believe, all things are possible to him that believeth. (Mark 9:23)”

Not only new possibilities were now available to me, but there also seemed to be no limits; if I could believe, then anything was possible. Of course it would have to be found “in Christ” or within God’s will and purpose for me, but still, if God could reveal it to me, then nothing could stop me from obtaining it.

“But Jesus beheld them, and said unto them, With men this is impossible; but with God all things are possible. (Matthew 19:26)”

I really don’t understand why people keep looking for “revival”, when in truth, it has already happened to the believers in Christ. The closest thing to a revival in the New Testament is in chapter 4 of Acts, where they were all filled again with the Holy Spirit.

“And when they had prayed, the place was shaken where they were assembled together; and they were all filled with the Holy Ghost, and they spake the word of God with boldness. (Acts 4:31)”

It seemed to me, if you feel a need for a refreshing or revival, then seek a refilling of the Holy Spirit, both as an individual and for a corporate filling. That’s not to say, that God can’t do this on a grandeur scale from time to time.

But, most past “Great Revivals” seem more of a work of restoration; restoring something that was lost to the Church or something that had been neglected. Maybe you just need to be reminded, you already have been made alive; so don’t look for something to come, just live in what you already have. Maybe what you really need is passion in your life, not a revival.

I was never much of a dreamer or someone who chased after a dream; like going to college, get a certain job or find the perfect career opportunity. I thought about becoming a Veterinarian when I was younger, but I always allowed things to distract me from pursuing it. I soon lost the ability to dream or to pursue after something new that might make me feel more fulfilled; for sure I had lost my passion and I’m not even sure if I ever had any!

However, that started to change once I became a believer in Christ; I now found myself dreaming again and the possibilities I found in my walk with God were countless. And there was a new-found zeal in my heart; a passion that wouldn’t take no as an answer.

If you look up the word “passion” in the dictionary, you will see Christ’s suffering on the cross as an example. Passion is an emotion so deep, that you are willing to suffer or go through whatever it takes to acquire your desire; it’s the willingness to suffer for something.

Athletes put off the luxury of eating certain foods or they spend all of their time training, rather than going out and having fun doing other things. Their focus is on winning, so they suffer the loss of other things, which otherwise might cause them to come up short of their goals or winning. Their passion is to win, even if that means they miss out on other things or suffer through a strict diet, (or go through immense physical pain).

I have found myself many times identifying with Christ’s suffering or passion, where the things that try to distract me, they now have little influence or pull on me. Therefore, my goals seem more achievable and my successes come more often. It really does appear to me at times, that all things are possible with God in my life!

Passion has become a driving force in me since I became a Christian. Now, when people ask me how am I doing, I answer them, “I’m experiencing the Life of Christ and advancing the Dream!”

Leave a Reply

