The God Who Is Already There!

god-holding-the-world-in-his-hands“To the chief Musician, A Psalm of David. O LORD, thou hast searched me, and known me.  Thou knowest my downsitting and mine uprising, thou understandest my thought afar off. Thou compassest my path and my lying down, and art acquainted with all my ways. For there is not a word in my tongue, but, lo, O LORD, thou knowest it altogether. Thou hast beset me behind and before, and laid thine hand upon me. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; it is high; I cannot attain unto it. Whither shall I go from thy spirit? or whither shall I flee from thy presence? If I ascend up into heaven, thou art there: if I make my bed in hell, behold, thou art there. If I take the wings of the morning, and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea; Even there shall thy hand lead me, and thy right hand shall hold me. If I say, Surely the darkness shall cover me; even the night shall be light about me. Yea, the darkness hideth not from thee; but the night shineth as the day: the darkness and the light are both alike to thee. For thou hast possessed my reins: thou hast covered me in my mother’s womb. I will praise thee; for I am fearfully and wonderfully made: marvelous are thy works; and that my soul knoweth right well. My substance was not hid from thee, when I was made in secret, and curiously wrought in the lowest parts of the earth. (Psa 139;1-15)”

This psalm probably gives the best example of God’s omnipresence and omniscience; where the Psalmist declares there is nothing that God doesn’t know about him; from his very beginning in his mother’s womb to the grave and even his thoughts and words before they are even spoken. (Nothing is hidden from God.)

Pick a direction on a compass, go anywhere in this earth; or go to the highest heaven or even hell. There is nowhere this Psalmist can go and God is not already there. No place is so dark that God can’t see him.

This is probably one of the hardest things for mankind to grasp about God; and it causes many to even become angry with God when people realize that even before tragedy happens, God is already there. But if he was already there, then why didn’t he do something about it to stop it?

“But of the tree of the knowledge of good and evil, thou shalt not eat of it: for in the day that thou eatest thereof thou shalt surely die. (Gen 2:17)”  

The Tree of Goodness & Calamity (or good and evil). It doesn’t seem fair that Adam & Eve could do something and it affect all of humanity, but that is what happened. Sin & Death entered the world of humanity as a direct result of their choice to disobey the word of the Lord. 

Rather than experiencing life through the Tree of Life, they choose to eat of the tree of goodness & calamity. So,in part, even though God is already there when calamity comes, it’s part of the curse; that we will learn the knowledge that comes not only through the goodness in this world, but also through the knowledge that comes from experiencing calamity or tragedy.

God is not moved by our needs or by the tragedies that come in this life, because this was the path Adam chose; however, he is moved by faith and God has made certain promises to those who will believe and have faith in him. In some cases, faith can rescue from death, but death will come to all eventually.

The Psalms are full of promises that God is with us during times of great trouble; some promises says he will deliver, while other show him as a refuge where he walks with us through the trials of this world as he gives us strength to make it to the other side. Faith is not a cure-all to our problems, but it is a source of comfort when hard times come.

I would hate to think that I would have to face all of the hardships of this present world alone; (even though there are other people around), there are somethings that can come that are too great for other people to be able to comfort me. Nor, can they give me a promise of life after death. 

There is a comfort that can be drawn from God that goes beyond this temporal world; it’s called the Resurrection and Eternal life. What goodness I can’t find during my time in this earth, it can be found in the God who is eternal and whose promises can wipe away all of our tears.

My wife’s son lost his life in an accident; as torn and heartbroken as she was, she could find comfort in the God who could raise him up in the resurrection and that as believers in Jesus, they would see each other again.

 Therefore, even in the tragedy of death, God was already there to comfort; already there to walk my wife through her pain; a pain that would have been unbearable alone. She didn’t need to wait for God to come to her, he was already there!

Death and Sin entered this world due to Adam and Eve’s choice, (we now live in a fallen world). It’s not a matter of if tragedy or if pain will come into our lives; but rather, will you trust in the God who is already there to comfort you when it comes? 

Adam & Eve made their choice; God chose to send Jesus to redeem us and to make a door to give us access to this God who is already there, while we live in this fallen world.

When your time of trouble comes, I hope you will see it like the Psalmist saw it; God doesn’t need to come to your position or to find you. No, he is already there!

Leave a Reply

